7 Comments

Five Sentence Fiction — Beauty

Monday is when I tackle some Five Sentence Fiction. Feel free to take Lillie McFerrin’s challenge to write a five sentence story based on a single word prompt. The word does not have to appear in your five sentences, just used for direction. This week’s word is Beauty.

Here’s my offering:

She stretched and yawned telegraphing her boredom with the current conversation. Lilly had things to do; she had to get herself ready. And why hadn’t dinner been served yet? My God, she thought, these people are insufferable. She resumed her bath on the couch, straightened her whiskers, and despite deciding that being beautiful was hard work, began to purr.

* * * * * * *

I did a story about a dog last week so in an effort to remain fair and balanced I thought a cat story was only proper.  I hope you enjoyed it.

Fern and yarn
This is my beautiful cat, Fern, who knows that the secret to beauty is all in the beauty rest, which she has raised to an artform.

Got five sentences? Share them!

If you enjoy flash fiction challenges stop by each week to participate in my writing challenge offered every Tuesday. Take your pick from two, yes that’s right, two different prompts that I will be providing right here weekly.

7 comments on “Five Sentence Fiction — Beauty

  1. What a beautiful cat…. I really wanted to get a little kitten, but he landlord has said no. Ahhhhh bugger I have started following you and look forward to seeing more posts

    • Yes Fern is beautiful and knows it. Thanks for the comments and the follow. I generally post my FSF effort each Monday to Lillie’s prompt and then I offer my own Flash Fiction prompts every Tuesday, which I hope you’ll take advantage of. Thanks again for playing in my sandbox…

  2. He he, I have a cat, or two, like that! Thanks for your comment on mine too, I’ll always come back to FSF 🙂

  3. Gorgeous story and gorgeous cat. Glad to know your try to be even handed with your animals stories.

Leave a Reply

