8 Comments

Five Sentence Fiction — Locked

Monday is when I tackle some Five Sentence Fiction. Feel free to take Lillie McFerrin’s challenge to write a five sentence story based on a single word prompt. The word does not have to appear in your five sentences, just used for direction. This week’s word is Locked.

pandora's box
Here’s my offering:

There was no return address, no note, no indication of where the package had come from. Once freed of it’s wrapping she was dazzled by a box of unparalleled beauty, intricately decorated with elaborate parquetry, inlay, relief carvings, gilding and the finest of smith work. An artfully engraved latch adorned the front and worked into the design were the words operor non patefacio. The accompanying key, also exquisitely crafted, slid smoothly into the lock and turned the tumblers without resistance allowing her to throw back the lid releasing a torrent of evil and pestilence. Had Pandora been brushing up on her Latin she might have known that the phrase on the lock meant do not open.

Got five sentences? Share them!

I have no idea if operor non patefaciois is an accurate latin translation for Do Not Open. I relied on a free online translator for that so anyone who knows better is welcome to provide a better translation.

If you enjoy flash fiction challenges stop by each week to participate in my writing challenge offered every Tuesday. Take your pick from two, yes that’s right, two different prompts that I will be providing right here weekly.

8 comments on “Five Sentence Fiction — Locked

  1. Really enjoyed this – lovely descriptions. I suspect even knowing it said do not open, she would have gone ahead.

  2. Very descriptive…I would have opened it…to my regret.

  3. Always enjoyed the mystery of Pandora…pity she wasn’t a Latin scholar! lol

    • I’m no latin scholar either. Maybe if Pandora had access to an online translator like me she would have made a different decision. Somehow I doubt it…

      Thanks for stopping by, Lisa!

  4. Heh, nicely done.
    I have to admit, it would have been a lot more teasing and not entirely so obvious had that image not been there to accompany it because then my mind started leaping ahead of what I was reading 😀
    But this was nice for me because currently the folks at DC comics have chosen to introduce their own iteration of Pandora and the fabled box to their comics universe and there is a HUGE company-wide “event” taking place around her and her story and it is SOOOO bad that I refused to read beyond part 2 (and I went beyond 1 just out of fairness :P).
    This has been a wee bit of a palette cleanser in a sense!
    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

