15 Comments

Five Sentence Fiction — Potions

Tuesday is when I tackle some Five Sentence Fiction. Feel free to take Lillie McFerrin’s challenge to write a five sentence story based on a single word prompt. The word does not have to appear in your five sentences, just used for direction. This week’s word is Potions.


Here is my offering:

Eric had his own way of dealing with her. He opened the antique wooden cupboard where he kept his potions under lock and key. A dusty dry aroma rose up at him and he gently traced a finger across the labels of each of the bottles that sat tucked into their own personal niches like saint statues at a cathedral. This one will do the trick he thought lifting the bottle from the old box, uncorking it and breathing in the peaty bouquet.  There was nothing like a 21-year-old single malt Scotch to erase the sound of her voice saying, “I’m leaving.”

Got five sentences? Share them!

15 comments on “Five Sentence Fiction — Potions

  1. Aw! This ended so much sadder than I thought it would. Can I say I enjoyed “peaty bouquet.” That was awesome.

  2. Sweet elixir! The perfect potion Andy.

  3. A nice touch of melancholy and at the same time not a “downer” or depressed moment/character. Well handled.

  4. Scotch is a mysterious potion indeed – highly capable of healing many agues and issues. Very nice.

    • So I hear. I’m not a scotch drinker but I have always been fascinated by the allure of the single malts. I may have to give it a whirl but I understand that they can leave a bit of a dent in the wallet…

  5. Oh, Bravo!
    Talisker of Lagavulin?

    Cheers!
    JzB
    p.s. He’s better off without her.

  6. Aw, melancholy and sad, but maybe for the best…

Leave a Reply

