12 Comments

Five Sentence Fiction — Memories

Tuesday is when I tackle some Five Sentence Fiction. Feel free to take Lillie McFerrin’s challenge to write a five sentence story based on a single word prompt. The word does not have to appear in your five sentences, just used for direction. This week’s word is Memories.


Here is my effort for this week:

It was November 15 when we made our way up to the overhanging balcony and sat in the front row, on red seats behind the low knee wall topped with a paint chipped rail, waiting for the lights to dim and the gold velvet curtains to part revealing an impossibly wide screen that promised to deliver so much. My legs bounced with excitement, my feet not even coming close to touching the ground. We shared popcorn and laughed with tears in our eyes for nearly three hours as Jonathan Winters, Milton Berle, Mickey Rooney, Buddy Hackett, and Sid Ceasar desperately tried to locate a big W.

That day has grown dogeared and well thumbed under fond and repeated inspection; it was simply a movie on a simple night in a simpler time, but it was just me and my dad and we fully gave ourselves over to that mad, mad, mad, mad world. Exactly one week later eyes filled with tears of a different sort for a world gone utterly mad; a world that changed on another November day in 1963.

Got five sentences? Share them!

12 comments on “Five Sentence Fiction — Memories

  1. powerful–so many things to think about in those few sentences. Check mine out on my post today>

  2. […] Five Sentence Fiction – Memories (andyswordsandpictures.wordpress.com) […]

  3. I liked the ‘legs bouncing with excitement’. That’s such an evocative image. Dramatic contrast here – nicely done.

    • The contrast is what I was going for. Thanks for your respected comments. The memories are real but I don’t know if they happened a week apart. I discovered that It’s a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World opened on Nov 7, 1963. I don’t know if the two memories were actually a week part but it’s not outside of the realm of possibilities.

  4. I really like the expression and the choice of words – I admit though that I may not appreciate the story as much as some because don’t understand all the references fully I think.
    Cheers.

    • Spider– I didn’t think about how this memory would translate internationally. The 1963 memory centers around going to see a zany mad-capped movie called “It’s a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World,” about a large group of people in search of a treasure of cash that a dying man told them was “buried under a big W” and starred the most incredible cast of comedic talent ever assembled (at least in my opinion). If you have never seen it definitely rent it. Even almost 50 years later it is still one of my all time favorite movies. The latter reference to another day in November 1963, was the assassination of US President John F. Kennedy on Nov 22, 1963, a date when America was shocked and grieved. I hope this sets this FSF piece in new light but I am glad it held together even when you didn’t know what it was about.

  5. ‘That day has grown dogeared and well thumbed under fond and repeated inspection’ – I adore this line!!!

  6. “That’s the one sweetie!” Jeffery said to his wife of ten years, excitedly pointing up to the night sky, “That’s the star I bought for you, happy anniversary!”
    Jeffery had seen the ad in the back of one of his wife’s gossip magazines that he always secretly read in the bathroom. “What a perfect way to show your devotion!” the glossy picture promised, “Name a star after the one you love and create memories of a lifetime!”
    His wife, teary eyed with emotion, looked up at her husband.
    “I want a divorce, you cheapskate”, she said.

    • She sounds pretty high maintenance. What did he name the star, “Thankless?” good stuff. It’s good to have you back in the writer’s chair…

      By the way tell your daughter that the next word is: “Awkward”

Leave a Reply

