23 Comments

Five Sentence Fiction — Blush

Tuesday is when I tackle some Five Sentence Fiction. Feel free to take Lillie McFerrin’s challenge to write a five sentence story based on a single word prompt. The word does not have to appear in your five sentences, just used for direction. This week’s word is Blush.

Here is my offering:


“And this is my new sister-in-law, Jill” the bride said introducing the minister to a cluster of guests at the reception.

“It’s very nice to meet you, Jill,” he said shaking her hand, “and you must be very excited; when is the baby due?” Without waiting for an answer or permission, he placed a hand on the woman’s protruding belly and bent down with closed eyes to say a blessing of faith and health for the unborn child and it’s mother. He stood and the sting of embarrassment that rose in his face along with a deepening blush was almost immediate. The ring of terror-stricken expressions and shocked silence that greeted him were clues that just maybe Jill wasn’t pregnant.

Got five sentences? Share them!

23 comments on “Five Sentence Fiction — Blush

  1. Oh. No. That was a cringe worthy moment for the minister. Awkward! Lol. That was my chuckle for the morning.

  2. You’re right – we were working along the same lines this week. Nice one, I could feel the embarrassment.

  3. Oh My what a terrible thing for both the minister and the woman! great way to start this beautiful with a huge smile and chuckle!

  4. Oh gosh…this is my favorite Five Sentence Fiction ever! Bravo…clap, clap, clap, clap, clap!

  5. That actually happened to me–(years ago of course–way past child bearing age now). At church one of the elders asked when my baby was due. He is since forgiven, but your story reminded me of how careless people can get with comments.

    • This was very loosely based on a true story. The minister at a wedding asked someone when her sister was due, so it was not originally a direct question, but still a faux pas. As my wife often says, “When you assume, you make an ass out of u and me.”

  6. A great story – made me smile.
    I bet he wanted to say another prayer – possibly asking for a large hole to open up at his feet!

  7. Yikes! Now that is blush-worthy!

  8. From the kid again. Thatks for the project! She looks forward to each week now.

    Valentines day was never one of Chris’s favorite holidays. Being a 3rd grade boy, he didn’t care about all of the romance the holiday brought with it. But as he opened a gummy filled valentine addressed to him, he wondered who it was from. That’s when he caught Jamie’s eye as she just looked at him and smiled, then turned away. Chris’s cheeks turned a rosy red color as he looked away shyly, thinking about the girl named Jamie and the valentine she sent him.

    • Love in the third grade. What a delightful piece. I am sure I blushed on Valentine’s Day when I was in the third grade, but that was a long time ago. You did a great job of capturing Chris’s embarrassment followed by his thoughts of Jamie which I am sure haunted him well into the night and maybe beyond. Good job.

  9. I think the safest course of action is never, ever to ask about ‘the baby’ until you know the person involved! Ha ha ha, loved this and I could totally feel the red-hot embarrassment rise from the computer screen as I read!

  10. Uh oh… when in doubt, remain quiet!!
    Now that is the “height of embarrassment” LOL. Nice one Andy!

  11. I think I cried a little, I was laughing that hard at this one!

Leave a Reply

