9 Comments

Five Sentence Fiction — Distance

Tuesday is when I tackle some Five Sentence Fiction. Feel free to take Lillie McFerrin’s challenge to write a five sentence story based on a single word prompt. The word does not have to appear in your five sentences, just used for direction. This week’s word is Distance.


Here is my offering:

The door clicked quietly shut.  The scent of her perfume was still in evidence but only in the foyer. He breathed it in deeply; it was a mixture of lemongrass and roses. He wanted to firmly commit it to memory. Jason hung his head wishing there had been a much greater distance between her words “good” and “bye.”

Got five sentences? Share them!

photo: Thinkstock.com
9 comments on “Five Sentence Fiction — Distance

  1. Creative use of the prompt word. Well done.

  2. Lemongrass and roses… Very evocative piece.

  3. This one from my 13 year old daughter:

    I tried to tell them. I tried to tell them all about the government warehouse and how they were holding alien life there. But nobody believed me. And now I watch, from the mental institution that I am forced to call my home, the lights of the alien ship disappear into the distance. never to be seen again.

    • Wow, great stuff. I wish I had thought of something like that. You and your Dad have quite a knack for this kind of thing. That was a wonderful use of the prompt and I hope we get to see more of your efforts in the future. You should share this with your English teacher and see if you can get your whole class writing FSF! Nice work.

  4. Simple and nice, I enjoyed that – but the last part of the last line kind of was lost on me. 😀

  5. The words “good” and “bye” when used independently can be happy words but when someone uses them to end a relationship as in “Goodbye” it’s never good…

Leave a Reply

