11 Comments

Five Sentence Fiction — Pirates

Tuesday is when I tackle some Five Sentence Fiction. Feel free to take Lillie McFerrin’s challenge to write a five sentence story based on a single word prompt. The word does not have to appear in your five sentences, just used for direction. This week’s word is Pirates.

Here is my offering:


“Bring this bucket to th’ starboard Mr. Wheeler, an’ don’t dally about or we’ll all be chum for th’ bottom feeders a fore th’ moon peeks o’er th’ horizon yonder, ye can mark me words,” Captain Verbossa yelled but his words and spittle were torn from chapped lips by lashing winds and pelting rain. 
The helmsman relied more on his own instinct than the barely heard orders and spun the ship’s wheel. Every able pirate scurried across sea-slicked decks with purpose and life-preserving fear like krill ahead of the mouth of a whale. 

Rising from the depths came a warning as if it were the voice of Calypso herself, “David Jones you turn that light off this instant,” and before dousing the lamp, he gave his blue quilt a kick—an attempt to send the ship directly into the open locker at the foot of his bed.

“Brace ye selves, mates,” bellowed the lookout perched high in the crow’s nest, “a monstrous wave’s a-comin’!”

Got five sentences? Share them!

I would also love to get some feedback from the FSF community on my Short Story (considerably more than five sentences—6,262 words to be precise) that I posted this past Sunday. Please take a gander and let me know what you think.

photo illustration by Andy Black
11 comments on “Five Sentence Fiction — Pirates

  1. Well, they are in a bit of a pickle. I really liked the descriptions you used. Like krill ahead of the mouth of a whale. Nice work.

    Nothing from me this week. I couldn’t get this prompt to wake my sleepy muse up, which is odd considering. Oh well. At least I get to read other’s offering

    • No FSF? Not much of a Johnny Depp fan, eh? Put that muse on the plank and make her walk if she doesn’t put out.

      And say Arrrgh a lot..

      • If she doesn’t put out? LOL. I believe my muse is a man. That would explain a lot of my creativity much better.

        There’s always next week!

  2. Walker d. Plank strolled up the deck for his 12 hour shift at the helm of the Serpent of the Sea, his white ash leg thumping in rhythm to the perpetual squawks of the seabirds hovering above him. Not only was Barnacle Breath Broderick missing from his station, but the entire wheel had disappeared. He spotted the scurvy rat at the stern; his breeches ballooned wider than a mainsail. “Yarrrgh, ya pirate, is that the steering wheel you’ve tucked down your pants?’
    “Arrrrghhh, ‘tis that,” Broderick bellowed, “and it’s driving me nuts!”

  3. Great visuals for this one, I was right there, slipping around on the soaked deck… and like Others, I loved the krill and whale line, brilliant!

    • Thanks so much. This was a fun prompt. The idea poped into my head shortly after going to bed and I have to say robbed me of more than a few hours of sleep as I composed and edited in my head until exhaustion won over.

  4. Absolutely awesome!! I laughed so hard I spit on the laptop screen!! 🙂

  5. Awwwww. The great imagination of little (and big) boys always has me smiling. This reminds me of one of my favorite children’s books: “Hey Get Off Our Train,” by John Burningham.

  6. Fantastic work, once again! Loved the pirate name, brilliant and I felt like stealing it for a moment, to use in a pirate story! 😀
    Love how you’ve tied it directly and yet free from the PotC movies mythos/characters/etc – great work. In fact, I was momentarily confused at the end until it sunk in properly (no pun intended and my brain slows sometimes) and I loved it doubly so with that neat little touch of supernatural – so much said in so little.
    Kudos, truly, because this is not an ability a lot of folks have – as you now know, me with my endless yammering being a prime example!
    Keep up the excellent work. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

