8 Comments

So Long 2011

HAPPY NEW YEAR!  Oh sorry.  Shhh…. Not so loud. I won’t keep you long.

I hope you don't look like this today

Let’s say good bye to 2011 and welcome in 2012. I am glad to be rid of the past year although it was a year of firsts for me.  My first published book.  My first royalty check.  My first time blogging.  I joined the twitteratti for the first time.  A lot of exciting things transpired this year.  But I am one parent poorer, having lost my mother to cancer this year and that continues to have an impact on me.  I won’t go into the economy and politics, this isn’t that kind of blog.

I would like to thank a few of the faithful who have been stopping by regularly and who have provided me with some of their wisdom as well:

Jennifer Monahan: Author of An American in Oz and My First Three Husbands, has been there from day one with comments.  She doesn’t let me get away with anything either. She continues to be a source of inspiration and support.

Andrew Zahn: He has a great blog called Creatives.  He and I are on a similar wavelength and I am glad he pokes his head in here regularly.

Rebecca Berto: She is also know as Novel Girl and dispenses wonderful advice to would be authors like myself.  I have learned much from her and she keeps me honest too.

Chris Galford: Author poet and blogger.  His blog is the Walking Den, and his first book is The Hollow March.  He too has been with me from the beginning and has been the poet in the group.  I enjoy his outlook and his joy of poetry.

Carolyn Barranca: A fellow blogger and a valued coworker.  She is a brave woman embarking on the adventure of building a house on the Northern Neck all on her own, which she blogs about in My Next Life.  She was the one who gave me that final push into blogging.

Thank you all who have visited my blog and come back for more! I would love your input on what you would like to see here in the future.  I have tackled topics such as cover design, show don’t tell, why we write, the art of creating, the use of description, and a lesson on similes and metaphors. Is that what you want more of?  Would you be interested in a series on Do It Yourself Book Design? It’s a bit technical but has some good information on how to set up a file for those diving into the realm of Print on Demand.  Please let me know what your thoughts are as we enter the new Year.

Okay.  You can go back to nursing your hangovers…

8 comments on “So Long 2011

  1. I learn a ton by reading your blog Andy; it’s one of a few that is a ‘must read’ for me.

    Your storytelling is brave. Good things ahead for us creatives in 2012!

    God bless.

    • Andrew, Thanks again for all your support. Anything you’d like to see here? I’m mining for topics…

      • A few things I’d want to know more of…

        1. How you got your books e-published to Kindle/Nook.
        2. Writing tips.
        3. Design tips would be great too! Maybe easy apps for non-designers to become designers.

        I’d greatly benefit from all 3 of these.

        Write on!

  2. Great suggestions. I will put them on my list. I am currently working on a post that provides some resources that explore different approches to the craft of writing which I hope wil be informative. That should go up in the next week or so.

    Thanks…

  3. I know of a book that spells it out in simple English how to post your ebook for Amazon Kindle and B&N Nook. It’s written by my friend, John Harnish. His pen name is John Franklin, cause he’s a decendant of old Ben himself. Here’s the link to this $2.99 ebook on putting ebooks up for sale on the two sites that sell 95% of all ebooks. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005LILKZA And here’s another book he wrote about writing ebooks. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004WOXXQI You may have to “dumb down” to post your ebook. It’s that easy.

  4. Thank you for the shout-out, Andy! It’s a pleasure to be about here, and certainly good to know you. You’ve truly made some great in-roads this year, with all those wonderful firsts…but I realize all must pale in comparison to so great and tragic a loss. I truly hope that in the year to come, a lot of sunshine swings your way, my friend.

    Wishing you all the best.

    • Chris– My pleasure. It’s a new year and I plan to try and make the most of it. Thanks for playing in my playground, and thank you for the kind words. You have opened up my eyes to the world of poetry and this year I may try my hand at a little bit of it. Your feedback will be trusted.

Leave a Reply

