7 Comments

Thinking Beyond the Outside of the Box

A couple of weeks ago I published a post of malapropisms. At least that is what regular reader Steve Meitz tells me they are called (and then informed me, with tongue in cheek, that since I had already published, it was a mute point. I hope his joke isn’t falling on deaf ears). If you read my “Doggy Dog World” post you have been introduced to malapropisms, the misappropriation of words in a familiar phrase such as “taking something for granite” instead of taking it for granted. Steve and I also talked about phrases that have crept into our lexicon that if used, should be punishable by law. What a fine idea for a blog post.

Mr. Meitz offered up two examples of irritating phrases:

Throwing someone under the bus

That being said…

Here are few more words or phrases that should be aggressively avoided:

Think outside the box (lets say what we mean: be creative, inventive, and innovative)

Bleeding edge (evidently more cutting than cutting edge)

Cutting edge (see “think outside the box”)

Pushing the envelope (see “cutting edge”)

Take it to the next level or similarly Let’s ramp things up (see pushing the envelope)

LOL, BFF, WTF, BTW, LMFAO, OMG, SMH (and any other acronyms used in social media)

Social Media (I know it’s an accepted label but it just bugs me)

In my humble opinion (not so humble if you are pointing out that it’s your opinion)

Shake the etch-a-sketch (I’m not passing any kind of political judgement, here. It’s only been just over a month since the initial comment was made and I’m already tired of it.)

Low food security (a government euphemism for hunger that I heard just the other night)

[Anything]-gate (a short cut for describing a scandal like GSA’s Vegas-gate)

Awkward!… (‘nuff said)

‘Nuff said

Epic and similarly, Epic fail (see awkward)

Amazing (let’s reserve that for something that truly is amazing. Onion rings may taste damn good but they are not amazing. The Northern Lights on the other hand just might be amazing)

Awesome (see amazing)

My bad (thankfully I don’t hear that much today but I want to keep it that way)

True, that! (see my bad)

Not to be rude, but… (which is generally followed by something rude)

Seriously?! (see true that)

Thank you in advance (rather presumptuous)

Needless to say (then why say it?)

To be honest or similarly, I’m not gonna lie… (what? everything else was a lie?)

Just sayin’ (I hear ya)

I hear ya (just sayin’)

Be original, say what you mean. Stop relying on pat popular phrases as a shortcut to expressing yourself. Think outside the box and seize this moment to shake the etch-a sketch. In my humble opinion its time we take it to the next level. It would be totally awesome if we all…

OMG! I’m doing it.

Awkward! My bad.

That being said, to be honest, I want to thank you in advance for avoiding the above phrases. It would be amazing if everyone felt the same way. Needless to say, ‘nuff said.

What are the expressions that you find irritating? Do tell! Oh wait is that on our list? It probably should be. Just sayin’…

7 comments on “Thinking Beyond the Outside of the Box

  1. The last paragraph = humorous intelligent brilliance.

    “Needless to say” always irritated me but I wasn’t sure why. Now I know.

    I just typed out ‘to be honest’ but reviewed your comprehensive list and think you tackled most of them.

  2. YOLO or you only live once. I’m kinda tired of seeing that one. Some of the stuff on your list I’m guilty of saying. *hangs head in shame*
    I can’t really say I’m going to be able to stop saying them though. >.>

  3. Just one word for this column, Andy…It’s Awesome!

    That being said, your never going to loose me as a regular reader. OMG, theres another idear for a colum.

  4. Nice one! I hear most of these on a creepily regular basis now that I think about.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 533 other followers

