4 Comments

The Ball’s in Your Court

cartoon of person buried in tennis ballsI have been blogging for close to five months, faithfully posting musings and tips every Sunday and Thursday.  This is not one of those mega-blogs that draws thousands of hits a week but I am pleased that (according to my wordpress dashboard) that I have drawn close to 4,000 views and I have over 150 followers.  I had a 500 view day recently (thanks to the crowd over at reddit.com). On average I am drawing about 70 hits a day and 490 hits a week. I may not be tearing up the blogosphere but it’s a vast improvement over the 4 or 5 initial loyal followers that stuck it out through that first month. I have 43 posts under my belt and largely relied on gut feelings when deciding on what topics to write about.  I would love to find out what you would like to see in the future and what topics you thought were not quite so engaging in the past.

Below is a poll that lists a couple of general themes that I can pursue down the road.  Choose as many as you like.  I also would like to encourage you to leave more specific suggestions in the comments section.  This is your chance to have an impact on what I touch upon (or avoid) in the future.  I hope you will feel comfortable enough to provide feedback not just today but any day.

4 comments on “The Ball’s in Your Court

  1. I’m a first time visitor so I don’t have the right I guess to answer the poll but I did anyway. I’m partial to poetry.

    • Tom–
      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. It makes no difference whether or not you have been here before, I am looking for an idea on what people want to find here. So thank you for your input and I hope you’ll come back and pole around some more.

  2. Hi,
    I know what you mean about it being satisfying even without the flood of readers and such – though you’re well ahead of where I am. But it’s good to know people are reading the content being put up.

    I opted for writing tips and observations and such about writing and creativity because you are something I’m still working on: a published writer.
    In addition I’d be happy to see more short stories if you post them up – I have your previous entry in this open in a tab waiting to be read because I wanted to sit properly, read it and THEN give feedback. Seemed the thing to do.
    Oh and how good or otherwise do you find reddit as a service/system/place?

    All the best.

    • Spider–
      Thanks for the feedback. I am encouraged by the response so far and I am getting a better picture of what my audience wants. Keep writing. Finish what you are working on. Make it the best you can make it. Get it out there. Best of luck to you, and thanks for stopping by…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 534 other followers

