24 Comments

By the Seat of My Pants

There are (at least) two types of writers.  There are those who plan everything out ahead of time and there are those who just dive in and start writing.  Neither is wrong, they are just different approaches.  I am one of those who goes at it by the seat of their pants, lovingly refered to as a “Pantser.”

The name of my blog is Andy’s Words and Pictures. Today I live up to the picture part of my blog name.  Below is a visual depiction of the writing process from my point of view.  I hope you enjoy it.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *

Please take a moment to fill out my poll on the right if you haven’t already done so.
illustration by Andy Black

24 comments on “By the Seat of My Pants

  1. So fantastic. Tweeting and facebooking this.

    It’s an infographic for creatives ;)

  2. Thanks! It was a bit of work but a lot of fun to put together!

  3. My oh my. That is a lot of bursts. You craft that lively infographic yourself?

  4. I was thinking about writing a post about this. Is it okay if I link people back to this if I do?

  5. [...] a pantser. Don’t know what a pantser is? (Check out Andy’s an excellent [...]

  6. Haha, I love it! This definitely me with half my stuff.

  7. Hahaha This is awesome!

  8. This is great – like looking at myself when inspiration strikes! I was laughing out loud. Will be sharing it on my facebook page and reblogging! Top stuff :)

    • Virginia – Thanks for the shout out/reblog! This post has been one of my most popular posts. Glad you liked it enough to pass it on.

      • Thats quite alright :) Although I’ve lost the reblog! Not sure why, I just went in to edit it and it has been deleted…..I cant seem to reblog or get the post back…..help? :)

  9. Reblogged this on Poeta Officium and commented:
    This is a hilarious post…and completely accurate for us Pantsers!

  10. Virginia–

    The reblog link shows up on my computer. Here is the direct link to this post if that helps:

    http://andyswordsandpictures.wordpress.com/2012/03/04/by-the-seat-of-my-pants/

    Try going to the link and hitting the refresh button and see if the reblog button shows up. I’m not much of a wordress aficionado…

    • Thanks, have tried the link but it still wont work. When I reblogged the first time, that Reblog link now says Reblogged. I click on it and nada. So I’ll just paste the link into my new post (if you dont mind) – its too good, I need to share! :)

  11. Reblogged this on Anansi's Web – The Pub at the corner of "No" & "Where" and commented:
    Possibly one of the best representations of what it is being a “by-the-seat-of-your-pants” creative mind and the process!
    Worth a read for all like minds!

  12. Reblogged this one because it just completely hit home!
    Nice work.

  13. [...] help put changes in the publishing business into perspective for writers.”Andy Black presents By the Seat of My Pants posted at Andy’s Words & Pictures, saying, “An Infographic of sorts explaining the [...]

  14. [...] Black presents By the Seat of My Pants posted at Andy’s Words & Pictures, saying, “An Infographic of sorts explaining the [...]

  15. [...] We figured that most folks will still be recovering from a chocolate bunny binge over the weekend, so we would keep it light today. Below is a hilarious infographic that highlights that there are two types of writers, those who are methodical, thoughtful and well planned, and then those that fly by the seat of their pants. If you are the latter, you will definitely relate to the infographic below. (I know that I did!)  To view the original infographic, visit the blog, Andy’s words and pictures. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 534 other followers

